Ordinary Member for Goose Bay Patricia Kemuksigak Resigns

Nunatsiavut President Johannes Lampe today extended best wishes to the former Ordinary Member for Upper Lake Melville, Patricia Kemuksigak, who officially resigned January 8 to take on a position with the Charles J. Andrew Youth Treatment Centre in Sheshatshiu.

“I want to thank Patricia for her years of service to the Nunatsiavut Government,” says President Lampe. “As a member of the Nunatsiavut Executive Council, Patricia was a strong advocate for Labrador Inuit. Her presence will certainly be missed.”

Prior to her resignation, Kemuksigak served as the Minister of Education and Economic Development, and previously served as Minister of Health and Social Development.

Finance, Human Resources and Information Technology Minister Tyler Edmunds, the Ordinary Member for Postville, will assume the duties of Minister of Education and Economic Development on an interim basis.

The general election for Ordinary Members to the Nunatsiavut Assembly will take place on May 1, 2018.